Getting Fit- Step one. Day 1

They say, ” Never trust a slim chef.” Well, I am extremely trustworthy. 😀

I’m not particularly big on housework (BLEH!).. but cooking- Oh that I love!

It’s fun. De-stressing.

A year ago,  a weekend when kids were on vacation with their grandparents, getting royally spoilt, the man and I were lazing around the house, enjoying the quiet with both our noses buried in our respective books. It was lunch time but cooking was the furthest thing from my mind.

11870859_958699580856369_2815884414226173109_n

Yeah, that was my state of mind. But in the end, I did get up rather grudgingly to make something. I’d bought some Kabuli pomegranates and I decided to make a salad. I love pomegranates- it is basically little explosions of flavor in your mouth. I could get back to my book without having to spend time cooking something elaborate. And while browsing for pomegranate salad recipes, I came across this recipe from Pick up the Fork’s Allie Lazar.(Thank you!) Of course I didn’t have all of the ingredients like quinoa, parsley and herbed goat’s cheese. But, highly inspired , I made do with what I had. In 20 mins , the man and I became fans of this recipe for life. Fabulously simple and extremely tasty.

Over the last year, I’ve tried varied versions of this- adding and deleting ingredients.

Here’s my version of this pomegranate salad.

Pomegranate Broken Wheat Salad

Ingredients:

  • One Pomegranate deseeded
  • One Cucumber
  • One medium sized tomato
  • One green chili finely chopped
  • One red onion
  • Four to five rose apples
  • Two tablespoons of finely chopped coriander
  • Some shredded lettuce
  • One tbsp olive oil or cold pressed sunflower oil
  • 3/4 cup dalia ( broken wheat)
  • Toasted and roughly chopped almonds and peanuts
  • the juice of one lemon
  • a tsp of honey
  • salt and pepper to taste.
  1. Wash and soak the broken wheat in hot water for 15 mins. Drain it and toss it into a bowl. Let it cool if it is still warm.
  2. Mix the lemon juice, olive oil  and the honey to create the dressing.
  3. Chop the vegetables and the rose apples and mix in pomegranate, dalia,the shredded lettuce and finely chopped coriander leaves.
  4. Add the dressing and season with salt and pepper.
  5.  Garnish with the almonds and peanuts.
  6. Note: If you don’t like dalia soaked. You can cook it. I preferred it just soaked. You can skip the rose apples. I just happened to be crazy about them and they happened to be in season.

And this is what you get!

Voila!

IMG_20150627_233915

And with this absolutely divine pomegranate salad, I auspiciously started my 100 days of clean eating.

3 thoughts on “Getting Fit- Step one. Day 1

Leave a Reply

